search

Transforming Education for Sustainable Futures

TESF Legacy Event

Event Date : 17 July 2023

Join us in Reimagining Education

Global Legacy Event 17 July 2023

Join us in reimagining education and shaping contemporary educational policy through the transformative power of knowledge co-creation.

For the past 2 years Global South research teams across 67 projects from India, South Africa, Rwanda and Somalia/Somaliland have been co-producing evidence and arguments urgently needed to transform education for sustainable futures.

There is a growing interest in the potential for knowledge co-creation among researchers, community-based organisations, policymakers and funders.

This collaborative approach has the potential to generate solutions to climate change and unsustainable development challenges by integrating knowledge from the disciplines with Indigenous and local knowledge systems.

In this global event, we will share key findings from the Transforming Education for Sustainable Futures (TESF) network that bridge the gap between policy and practice. We offer actionable insights that go beyond theory, as they are firmly grounded in local realities and lived experiences.

Together, we can shape a more equitable, inclusive and sustainable education system that prepares learners with the diverse knowledge and agency for realising sustainable futures. Join us in reimagining education now!

Event Programme (UK / BST)

08:00Reimagining the Future of Education Together
08:25The World We Want
09:30The Power of Knowledge Co-Creation
10:00Future Research Agendas
11:00Event concludes

Event Programme (South Africa / SAST)

09:00Reimagining the Future of Education Together
09:25The World We Want
10:30The Power of Knowledge Co-Creation
11:00Future Research Agendas
12:00Event concludes

Event Programme (Rwanda / CAT)

09:00Reimagining the Future of Education Together
09:25The World We Want
10:30The Power of Knowledge Co-Creation
11:00Future Research Agendas
12:00Event concludes

Event Programme (Somalia / Somaliland / EAT)

10:00Reimagining the Future of Education Together
10:25The World We Want
11:30The Power of Knowledge Co-Creation
12:00Future Research Agendas
13:00Event concludes

Event Programme (India / IST)

12:30Reimagining the Future of Education Together
12:55The World We Want
14:00The Power of Knowledge Co-Creation
14:30Future Research Agendas
15:30Event concludes

Event Programme


Reimagining the Future of Education Together

Transforming education is an urgent imperative for our collective future.

Today learners are left ill-prepared to overcome intersecting crises linked to climate disruption, poverty, increasing inequality and conflict. To transform education, learning needs to empower individuals and societies to both reshape the present and lead us to more just, sustainable and resilient futures.

Leon Tikly (University of Bristol)

08:00 BST / 09:00 SAST / 09.00 (CAT) / 10.00 (EAT) / 12.30 (IST)

Reimagining the Future of Education Together

The World We Want.

Education that transforms the future.

What does transformative education look like from the Global South?

We will share key findings and actionable insights that policymakers, researchers, educators, teachers and activists can take to build sustainable livelihoods, foster sustainable cities and communities, promote environmental and climate justice, and tackle intersecting inequalities.

This interactive session will be hosted by lead researchers and project teams from India, Rwanda, South Africa, and Somalia/Somaliland.

Heila Lotz-Sisitka, Poonam Batra, Amal Ali, & Michael Tusiime.

08:25 UK/ 09:25 SAST / 09.25 (CAT) / 10.25 (EAT) / 12.55 (IST)

The World We Want

The Power of Knowledge Co-Creation.

How can knowledge co-creation transform education for sustainable futures?

How can equitable partnerships decolonise research and promote social and environmental justice? What does it look like in practice?

In this session we reimagine research practices that foster inclusive collaborations to shape the future of education.

Leon Tikly, Rhona Brown, Rafael Mitchell, Ash Brockwell

09:30 UK / 10:30 SAST / 10.30 (CAT) / 11.30 (EAT) / 14.00 (IST)

The Power of Knowledge Co-Creation.

Future Research Agendas.

Join us for a panel discussion and Q&A with key global voices in education policy:

Representative from UNESCO
Moira Faul (NORRAG)
N V Varghese (NIEPA)
Akpezi Ogbuigwe (UNEP)

10:00 UK / 11:00 SAST / 11.00 (CAT) / 12.00 (EAT) / 14.30 (IST)

Future Research Agendas

TESF Legacy Event Logos - GCRF / TESF / UKRI

SHARE THIS EVENT:
TESF Legacy Event

Transforming Education for Sustainable Futures

Join us in Reimagining Education

Global Legacy Event 17 July 2023

Join us in reimagining education and shaping contemporary educational policy through the transformative power of knowledge co-creation.

For the past 2 years Global South research teams across 67 projects from India, South Africa, Rwanda and Somalia/Somaliland have been co-producing evidence and arguments urgently needed to transform education for sustainable futures.

There is a growing interest in the potential for knowledge co-creation among researchers, community-based organisations, policymakers and funders.

This collaborative approach has the potential to generate solutions to climate change and unsustainable development challenges by integrating knowledge from the disciplines with Indigenous and local knowledge systems.

In this global event, we will share key findings from the Transforming Education for Sustainable Futures (TESF) network that bridge the gap between policy and practice. We offer actionable insights that go beyond theory, as they are firmly grounded in local realities and lived experiences.

Together, we can shape a more equitable, inclusive and sustainable education system that prepares learners with the diverse knowledge and agency for realising sustainable futures. Join us in reimagining education now!

Event Programme (UK / BST)

08:00Reimagining the Future of Education Together
08:25The World We Want
09:30The Power of Knowledge Co-Creation
10:00Future Research Agendas
11:00Event concludes

Event Programme (South Africa / SAST)

09:00Reimagining the Future of Education Together
09:25The World We Want
10:30The Power of Knowledge Co-Creation
11:00Future Research Agendas
12:00Event concludes

Event Programme (Rwanda / CAT)

09:00Reimagining the Future of Education Together
09:25The World We Want
10:30The Power of Knowledge Co-Creation
11:00Future Research Agendas
12:00Event concludes

Event Programme (Somalia / Somaliland / EAT)

10:00Reimagining the Future of Education Together
10:25The World We Want
11:30The Power of Knowledge Co-Creation
12:00Future Research Agendas
13:00Event concludes

Event Programme (India / IST)

12:30Reimagining the Future of Education Together
12:55The World We Want
14:00The Power of Knowledge Co-Creation
14:30Future Research Agendas
15:30Event concludes

Event Programme


Reimagining the Future of Education Together

Transforming education is an urgent imperative for our collective future.

Today learners are left ill-prepared to overcome intersecting crises linked to climate disruption, poverty, increasing inequality and conflict. To transform education, learning needs to empower individuals and societies to both reshape the present and lead us to more just, sustainable and resilient futures.

Leon Tikly (University of Bristol)

08:00 BST / 09:00 SAST / 09.00 (CAT) / 10.00 (EAT) / 12.30 (IST)

Reimagining the Future of Education Together

The World We Want.

Education that transforms the future.

What does transformative education look like from the Global South?

We will share key findings and actionable insights that policymakers, researchers, educators, teachers and activists can take to build sustainable livelihoods, foster sustainable cities and communities, promote environmental and climate justice, and tackle intersecting inequalities.

This interactive session will be hosted by lead researchers and project teams from India, Rwanda, South Africa, and Somalia/Somaliland.

Heila Lotz-Sisitka, Poonam Batra, Amal Ali, & Michael Tusiime.

08:25 UK/ 09:25 SAST / 09.25 (CAT) / 10.25 (EAT) / 12.55 (IST)

The World We Want

The Power of Knowledge Co-Creation.

How can knowledge co-creation transform education for sustainable futures?

How can equitable partnerships decolonise research and promote social and environmental justice? What does it look like in practice?

In this session we reimagine research practices that foster inclusive collaborations to shape the future of education.

Leon Tikly, Rhona Brown, Rafael Mitchell, Ash Brockwell

09:30 UK / 10:30 SAST / 10.30 (CAT) / 11.30 (EAT) / 14.00 (IST)

The Power of Knowledge Co-Creation.

Future Research Agendas.

Join us for a panel discussion and Q&A with key global voices in education policy:

Representative from UNESCO
Moira Faul (NORRAG)
N V Varghese (NIEPA)
Akpezi Ogbuigwe (UNEP)

10:00 UK / 11:00 SAST / 11.00 (CAT) / 12.00 (EAT) / 14.30 (IST)

Future Research Agendas

TESF Legacy Event Logos - GCRF / TESF / UKRI

Register for event

* indicates required